Review and Renew

 

New Year New Beginnings

The beginning of a New Year and you are supposed to be focusing on the future and reflecting on the last year.

I must admit I am not a big reflector I always say I live my life like I drive I rarely look in the rear-view mirror as I’ve already been there.

But I thought it may be good to do a little bit of reflection and some changes for the coming year.

I started this blog to help me deal with my mum’s decline in health and dementia. Also for an element of accountability as I looked at developing my brand and growing a business. Things were very tough when I started the blog Mitch had been out of work for a long time and subsequently his mental health was suffering. But I so needed him at home too and he has been my absolute rock there for me every step of the last year and I treasure our relationship. This is my release a cathartic way to get my emotions out there.

Lots of things bring the tears flowing but then lots of things bring gratitude and laughter too. We are so grateful we have our Giraffes Neck. This year she has flourished as a funny, free spirited loving kind fuman being (she insists it is fuman not human) Our boy has continued to grow at an alarming rate almost a teenager he has expanded his circle of friends and keeps stretching both his and his parents comfort zone. It is a steep learning curve parenting a popular 12 year old.

I thought I had done all my crying, but I hadn’t I hadn’t at all. It hits you just when you don’t expect it, taking photos of the kids and laughing at their antics thinking I’ll tell mum about that – then remembering you can’t, buying a Christmas card for your Dad. They don’t do ones that say
“Just get through this Christmas the best you can – we know you are heartbroken”.

Dad has been up and down since mum, he has been in hospital a couple of times and so I am spending more time with him than I had anticipated. This I do find draining as with Mum we would go to garden centres or shops or pop to the pub for lunch. Dad isn’t bothered about going out unless he needs something (he needs nothing) I clean the bungalow, cook his food, and watch TV with him. We do go out sometimes but he really isn’t that bothered he just wants company. Doing not much is more exhausting than fussing around someone in a wheelchair and hoping they don’t say or do anything out of character.

I am getting slowly back to being me. Although I am not sure who “me” is anymore as I know I can’t be the same person I was prior to the caring responsibilities.

I tell people that they need to look after themselves first you can’t pour from an empty cup but I couldn’t remember the last time I thought about myself or my business as a priority.

Things have to change I know that and they are. Operation Empowered is underway!!

I was chosen to have a style and image consultation and photo shoot to help me on my way.  I have also ventured into a salon for a cut and colour.
I’ve started running again something I really enjoy but have struggled to get past the 5K mark and keep up the continuity but four of us sisters have started on a regular basis and although we have had a bit of a break during the build up to Christmas we will be back on it soon. I am also committing to losing the excess weight I gained since mums decline, I put on over a stone and a half add that to the extra 2stone. So I am starting on a slimpod journey and will be using the techniques to help me make the changes. That journey will form part of my revamped blog.

I attended a kundalini yoga session the other day and the word Freedom came to me. So freedom is going to be my word for the foreseeable future. I want freedom of time to be able to support my children in their activities and life. I want freedom of time to be able to take dad to appointments and support his needs. I want freedom of finances (this is a biggy) so we can go out for meals, we can get passports and go on holidays abroad and at home should we wish. I want freedom of finances so we can clear our debt and build a future for our kids living in an area that will nourish our mind body and souls.

Happiness is the New Success
I aim to be visible and become a great influencer not because I want the fame and fortune but because I want to make a positive impact on peoples lives, giving them confidence to be themselves empowered to be free. This is getting a new year start as I will be speaking at a networking event on this coming Thursday the title of my talk?

Happiness is the New Success… eeekkk exciting times. Its the day before my birthday so I even get a night out too.

My business will be based on Authenticity (hence the blog) Empowerment, Gratitude and Freedom. So watch this space as things come to fruition that I have worked on for a long time as the time is now right. Because if not now when? There will always be something to hold me back there will always be a child that needs a hug, a dog that needs a walk and probably a sister that wants to chat, not forgetting a Dad who wants, well he just wants me to be there.

I’m going to give the blog a bit of a makeover as when I started it I was in a dark place although I didn’t realise it at the time I wanted it to be black and white. But now I want to implement some colour and energy into it. I would love for my lil old blog to be seen around the world for it to have an impact on people on a similar journey to me so they can know they are not alone be it with parenting, caring or shifting those love handles and anything else that crops up in our world.

Much love to you all and I wish you happiness, health and abundance for each and every day of 2016.

elaine mitchell

Leave a Reply

