Sheffield Mum 5 Stone Weight Loss

The Diet Industry doesn't work

Seen the headline?

Yep it’s true

Lets get this clear. I have never had a weight problem UNTIL I thought I had one and I started dieting. I remember the time I stepped on the scales and saw a weight gain of 6lb in four days. I had been to Scotland with my then fiancé and met his extended family for the first time. We ate drank and were very merry. So merry, that my size 10 trousers were a tad tight on the journey home. I jumped on the scales the next morning and the slippery slope began.

As a school girl I was skinny, I ran skipped danced and rode my bike through the 70’s

As a teen I was skinny I skipped, danced and laughed my way through the 80’s

Then I hit my twenties and I skipped, danced, worked out like a demon and worried about the size of my hips.

I wasn’t enormous I wasn’t overweight and I certainly wasn’t obese. The visit to Scotland saw me break the 9st barrier, another half a stone went on and before I knew it I was over 10stone. Action was required and I joined a weight loss group. I wasn’t fat and I certainly wasn’t obese.

But that pesky half a stone would get lost and then find its way back onto my butt or ass.

By the time I was approaching my 30’s I had lost half a stone approximately 10 times but had put it back on again along with a further 3 stones or more.

So a decade of not much movement compared to previous years add in fertility treatment and hormones, plus an addiction to chocolate and cakes and biscuits then and only then did I become Obese. A decade and a half of dieting and finally I became Obese!!

I was talking to a friend the other day (over latte and cake of course) our yo-yo dieting practices and she had decided to go back to her slimming club as it was the “only thing” that works. I know we are not the only friends having that conversation especially since the dawn of a New Year.

But the sad truth is it’s not. It’s not working as we have to keep going back. It does work for the period of attendance. Only a few members in manage to change thought processes and relationships with food therefore getting to target and most importantly staying there.  The rest of us stay on that cycle or yo-you dieting often starting out heavier than when the diet began. I am a prime example of this my last diet started out last January. Today I have weighed and measured myself I am 2” larger on my hips than I was this time last year and a whole 12lbs. But on that diet I lost 6lbs. At least I am consistent. I have deduced that I am no good at dieting. Or am I quite perfect at it?

I like to look nice but It is not something I stress about and I don’t spend ages in front of the mirror. However I am raising my profile at the moment for my speaking and coaching career. This will involve the recording of videos and speaking opportunities.

Exciting yes BUT daunting. I don’t want to be seen as that fat middle aged woman on YouTube.

I’ve received the first warning signs. Four years ago I was admitted to hospital as I had a gall stone which blocked the exit of the gall bladder causing my gall bladder to become septic I was very ill for a while and had to have a drain fitted for almost a month not nice then my poisoned gall bladder was removed. There were complications the whole time and I was very ill.

I have grandad knees and my hips ache they have started to ache most likely due to the extra padding that gives me so much more than a muffin top.

Sweet Sweet Life
Good Advice Which I love to follow

Mum was a good dieter, she would have a cheat day that lasted a cheat week, she would reward herself with a bun after a weight loss, commiserate after a gain and have a it won’t make a difference if she had maintained. Perhaps I got my sweet tooth from her.

My problem is cakes, biscuits, comfort eating, large portions huge portions too and not moving enough, coupled with the stress of caring for and losing mum I have put on even more weight this last year.

If you always do what you have always done then you will always get what you have always got.

Dieting doesn’t work for me –It is all about denial, it is all about restrictions and even more so resentment.  I am a bit of a maverick I don’t like being told what to do. Time to stop losing that half a stone and putting on more. Time for change.

 
As a coach I know all about the conscious mind and the subconscious mind. It is the reason why dieting fails for me probably – for others too.

The subconscious is the part that “does the do”, It breathes,  it blinks,  it just does everything automatically. So when I reach for the biscuit tin I do it unconsciously as it is a habit I have formed over many years and a belief I have that one won’t hurt but the trouble is my subconscious mind can’t count.

My conscious mind is the one that gives the commands. Have you seen Despicable Me? It’s like Gru to the subconscious minions. Decisions are made, and restrictions put in place but when Gru is switched off the minions kick in and head straight for the cake tin. Changes have to be made; The minions need to be doing the same dance as Gru and I think I have finally found the answer in Slimpod. A nine minute recording that speaks directly to your subconscious mind whilst you chill out. Both Gru and the Minions will finally be doing the same shimmy! Hurrah

It sounds just what the doctor ordered So far I am on day 4 and I have noticed subtle changes, more water consumption, food left on my plate, no cake with the coffee. But I have had cake as it was my birthday last week and I had a divine lemon drizzle cake but I had one slice at a time. That is unbelievable in my house and even more so in my head. Yesterday I took a biscuit had a bite realised how sweet it was and gave the rest to the dog. This was all without thinking and stressing could I be forming new food habits? I do hope so. My husband and kids relate me to being like Joey Tribbiani from friends I do not share food. The dog is my new best friend.

Changes are taking place I am hoping the minions will comply and soon will be shimmying across that dancefloor with a sexy little tush.  As they have a wedding to attend in 12 weeks.

The Slimpod gold programme is a 12 week programme that requires a commitment of 9minutes listening time per evening. Plus a few minutes reflection on the day to record achievements. I have taken it a step further as I have agreed with Thinking Slimmer to blog my progress and how I feel the app and the programme is working for me. So along with the other stuff I am doing I will keep you informed.

So far so good

I'm not unhappy, BUT  I want change.
I’m not unhappy
BUT I want change.

Interested in  Slimpod and Thinking Slimmer check it out. Please note I am an affiliate of Thinking Slimmer and may receive a commission payment for any sales generated from my efforts

Slimpod have donated the use of the app and programme to myself but all thoughts and opinions are my own. If you would like to know more about the process then you can  check it out here.

 

 

Leave a Reply

